Glass Sword by Victoria Aveyard (Red Queen #2)

Hi everyone! Yet again I am sooooo sorry that I didn’t take notes while reading this book and the review might be a little shallow, but I just was so gripped by the book and also I was reading it on a bus and therefor it was sadly noteless 😦

First of all I loved this book so much! So the review might lack disadvantages on the book, honestly, I don’t remember any being there. It was amazing. Certainly liked it more than the first book and I am so happy I gave these series a chance. The Glass Sword gave me so many feels and for the first time ever I actually cried reading a book. I know there are times when you heart broken and in pain while reading, but I’ve never really had tears leave my eyes in times like those, but this ending, it just broke me completely down and I was on a bus sobbing.

I give it 4.9/5 starts as there will for sure be a third book and I’m leaving that 0.1 for the next book in case it gets even better. In my own special rating system it’s a complete loss of sleep in the extreme, where the next day you stop functioning and just can’t get over the book you just read. I won’t lei to you I was in a bit of a reading slump after this and had to read a lot of angsty new adult novels in order to get over it.

I simply loved how this story progressed and where it went, the personal relationships and how they developed  felt very real. I am stuck on the Cale ship forever (Cal and Mare, and can we fangirl for a moment over their perfect ship name), even back in the Red Queen when Maven was not completely evil I was on team Cal and with this sequel I just couldn’t handle my ship feels, how my ship started to take of shore and just AHHH!! ❤ It gave me a very nice balance for all the heartbreak Victoria Aveyard is giving me all over again. However nothing tops the ending, it has been a few weeks since I read this book and I am still a little sad and mad about it, but can I just say how it was so tragic and sad that it almost felt poetic and had that Shakespearian beauty in it.

The whole dilemma of Mare becoming more ruthless and cold hearted was so believable and in my opinion human. This girl has literally been through terrible thing one after the other her entire life and as her half fills at some point she is bound to have these kinds of feelings. I know this puts this darker shade over her character, but I loved this, because I feel like sometimes in Young Adult novels the characters are unbelievably good to a fault where they stop feeling real to me. Mare feels like she could be a real person, making these kind of impossible decisions where no outcome is ever good enough.

All in all, I completely fell in love with these series and I can’t wait for the next book and I hope it doesn’t fail me and becomes a complete 5 stars! 🙂

As always follow me on twitter @iamnotmoon and instagram @sleepvsread , in order to follow what I read on a daily basis  add me on goodreads! Please don’t be shy and comment down bellow with any ideas or insights you may have and if you just want to talk feel free to contact via any of my social media!

Leave a Reply

