Red Queen by Victoria Aveyard

It took me a long while to finally pick this book up, I tried a few times, but simply wasn’t in the mood. I finally did it! I read it all in one sitting and I loved it!

Generally speaking I liked the whole Throne of glass meets Hunger Games feeling of it and the fast pace of the story. After I read past the first few chapter it really took me in and I couldn’t put it down.

The only thing I could say against it is that the entire book I felt like Maven is up to something so it didn’t really surprise me at the end when his agenda was revealed. However I believe he is going to make an amazing villain for the next book. I also found it heartbreaking that these two characters who have already had such a hard life (Cal and Mare) had to go through so much trauma, but I guess there would be no premise for the book if it was all sunshine and rainbows.. Although I did have a bit of an instalove feel behind the whole Cal and Mare romance, it didn’t really bother me as much as I expected as he does save her ass a whole lot. But I would definitely have liked more of a romance development between the two and maybe some more fluff scenes than the only one we get.

I really enjoyed the plot twist at the end with Shade being still alive, I though it was great because there was at least one nice thing happening to Mare in this very crappy life she’s been having. I also like the way her character goes through the struggles of having to go against her nature and live a complete lie. The thing I enjoyed the most was her relationship with Julian and he somehow gave me the vibe of Dumbledore which made me love him so much more.

All in all I give the book 4,7/5 stars. I loved reading it and can’t wait to pick up the sequel. I always enjoy plots involving royalty so that just made me fall in love with this series. I’m really hoping I am not disappointed after I read the next one.

Anyone can betray anyone

Leave a Reply

