The Heir (The Selection #4) by Kiera Cass

First of all I know it is strange for my first review to be on a 4th book in the series. But I am rolling with it and if you are reading this, so should you.

I have been avoiding this book for a while now, because I read the first 3 as they came out and The Selection was at the time one of my favorite series, still makes it on my top series list. I had heard not too great things about The Heir in the book reading community and simply didn’t want to ruin my opinion on the series. However as I am sure you all know, we can’t really decide out reading moods and desires and it so happened I ended up reading this book in one sitting today.

I gave it a 4/5 stars rating and I stand by it. While I sometimes found myself craving for more comic relief and fluff, these things simply didn’t go with the story and I am satisfied with what I got. I enjoyed this book a lot more than I thought I would. The main character annoyed me in the beginning, but as I progressed I found myself relating to her more and more. She may have a lot of faults, a bit egocentric and shallow, hot headed and distant, these things and her actions make her very human thus making the story more believable and easier to read for me. I am also very interested in her moving forward and coming over her issues, I want to see some serious character development and of course hopefully some fluff in the upcoming book.

I’m very happy there is no one clear love interest in The Heir. Almost in every young adult book we can immediately know main love interests be it one or two. However having finished this book I still have no one man in mind for the main protagonist and I find this whole dynamic they have very refreshing to read. This also gives a whole big variety of interesting male characters with their own fun traits and personalities. I can feel a little bit of a Snow White (even though Eadlyn is nothing like her) and the seven dwarfs ( amazing men, that all want her hand in marriage) thing going, because of the way they interact and I LOVE IT! I also enjoyed very much the family relationships and I think it added a whole nice chunk of fluff and sweetness that was very needed. I understand Henri’s comic relief role in this book, yet I just enjoy his character so much and I found myself relating to his moments a lot as he reminds me so much of my foreign friends.

It’s a bit of a shame the next book in the series only comes out in a few months as I wish to read it right away. I’m hoping my hype and excitement to read it won’t lessen until May.

There are some things you don’t learn about yourself until you let someone else into the most intimate places of your heart.

Leave a Reply

